• Living
  • Visiting
  • Departments
  • Services
  • History
  • Get In Touch

2015 Mayor and Borough Council

The Borough of Somerville is organized under the Mayor-Council form of government.

The Mayor is elected to a four-year term and six council members are elected for staggered three-year terms. Two council members are elected each year.

The Borough Council elects a member to serve as Council President to act in the absence of the Mayor. Each council member is appointed by the Mayor to one of six standing committee’s during the Annual Reorganization Meeting held on January 1 of each year.

The Borough Council meets every 1st and 3rd Monday of the month commencing immediately following the workshop session in Borough Council Chambers located at the Somerville Police Headquarters, 24 South Bridge St. The Borough Council executive session begins at 6:00pm and the regular Borough Council workshop follows the executive session.

Brian G. Gallagher
Term Expires December 31, 2015

2015 Somerville Borough Council

Council President Jane Kobuta
Term Expires 12/31/16
Administration/Personnel Chair  

Councilman Thompson Mitchell
Term Expires 12/31/15
Public Property Chair

Councilman Jason Kraska  
Term Expires 12/31/15 (unexpired term)
Public Works Chair

Councilman Dennis Sullivan
Term Expires 12/31/17  
Finance Chair

Councilman Ken Utter 
Term Expires 12/31/16
Fire Commissioner

Councilman Robert Wilson
Term Expires 12/31/15
Police Commissioner


2015 Council Liaisons


                   West End Redevelopment,  Raritan River Greenways, Library, Landfill Development Committee, Workplace Diversity Committee


                 SRVSA, Recycling, TMA Ridewide, Environmental Commission, NJ Transit Railroad Coalition

          JASON KRASKA 

                Board of Health, Recreation, Accident Review Committee, CDBG, Animal Shelter,  Municipal Youth Alliance/ Youth Services Committee, Complete Streets
                NJ Transit Railroad Coalition


              Board of Education,  East End Redevelopment, By-Laws Committee, Veterans Association, Somerset County Freeholders,
              Human Relations, 
Kirby Area Redevelopment Committee, Historical Advisory Committee 

           KEN UTTER

                Fire Police, RWJ-Somerset Medical Center, DSA/SBPA, Landfill Committee, Emergency Management, First Aid & Rescue Squad, Complete Streets

           ROBERT WILSON

                Fire Museum, Municipal Court, Emergency Services Facilities, Code Enforcement, East End Redevelopment, Somerville TV, West End Redevelopment 
                Kirby Area Redevelopment Committee