June 14: The Naturalization Ceremony will be held at 5 pm, on the County Courthouse steps.  

Borough Council


Kevin Sluka

(908) 725-2300
ext. 1983


The Borough of Somerville is organized under the Mayor-Council form of government. The mayor is elected to a 4-year term and 6 council members are elected for staggered 3-year terms. Two council members are elected each year. The Borough Council elects a member to serve as president to act in the absence of the Mayor.

Each council member is appointed by the Mayor to 2 of 6 standing committees during the annual reorganization meeting held on January 1 of each year. There are also additional liaison assignments for other committees and commissions.


The Council meets every 1st and 3rd Monday of the month at the Somerville Civic Center, 24 Robeson Street. Their executive session begins at 6:30 pm and the public meeting starts at approximately 7 pm. For more information, read ourĀ guide to participating in Borough Council meetings.

Upcoming meetings

Jun 17 2024
Jul 1 2024
Jul 15 2024
Close window